So, we all bundled up and walked to the train station, which is about a 12 minute walk, it was pretty cold but we made it without too much complaining! We had to wait for about 20 minutes in the "waiting room," which was pretty warm thank goodness! The kids started getting pretty crazy towards the end. The train ride was pretty short, and they were not too happy about having to walk more to get to the council office. But we made it and didn't have to wait too long! Then we realized we didn't have the passports. Oops!!! But they saw the kids, so I made the trip back with the passports by myself later. ( and they told me it takes 10-12 days to process, so looks like no school for the girls next week.....)
We ended up taking the bus back because it was not as long to walk, but we had to purchase Oyster cards first. I tried at the train station yesterday, but they don't sell them there for some reason. But you have to have one to ride the bus because its pre-paid. The bus was pretty fun and we got to sit on the top deck of the bus.
My other task for today was to get a local cell phone; however, they will not give me a contract until I have lived here for 6 months......so I am going to attempt to get a pay as you go SIM card until then. But I really want to keep my cell # since its the only one I have ever had, so I am trying to figure out how to swing that.
Tomorrow, we get Internet and TV and groceries!!! Big day!!! I should be able to post some photos tomorrow.
No comments:
Post a Comment