Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Settling in...

We are getting settled in.  We all slept in today and were awaken by the knock on the door at 9 AM from the grocery delivery and the cable guy!  Still trying to get over the jet lag!    

I can definitely get used to the grocery delivery, the ordering took awhile, but how wonderful for it all to just show up!  And without a car, it's really the only way to go. And we now have cable TV, the Internet and a home phone number.  We are official now.

The girls decided they wanted to have a sleepover in Drew's room last night, so they slept on the floor....Drew ended up back in his bed early this morning but the girls were on the floor all night.

We walked down to the park this afternoon, it's so convenient!  About a 5 minute walk, and every time I have walked by, there have been lots of families and kids there.  The kids had fun exploring.  Lauren is very proficient with the scooter Father Christmas left here for her.  Alison was pretty good with the scooter but I think she will do better now that Brad put the second wheel on the back.  Drew is starting to learn how to do the balance bike.

I did my first load of laundry this week, and I am pretty happy with the washer/ dryer.  The placement is a little odd, in the kitchen, of to the side.  But several houses we looked at had them right in the middle of the kitchen right next to the dishwasher!!!  I am going to wish I put a laundry basket in the air shipment.

Another first today was making a cup of coffee with a French press.  I miss my keurig!! But they are super pricey over here.  Brad is happy with the kettle using instant coffee, but to me there's nothing like a brewed cup of coffee.  I think the French press will be a good compromise but a little messy with the coffee grounds.  Thankfully, there's several coffee places a short walk away....  :)

Right now the only other thing I am missing is my garbage disposal!  But it's back to the days of my house where I grew up.

No comments:

Post a Comment